Assignment Three – Feedback

It feels so long ago that I completed assignment three and handed it over to my tutor, that it’s quite strange to be revisiting it now. The reflection is a good way to get myself back into assignment mode though.

My tutor, as ever, responded very quickly and positively after I gave him my assignment. The full report can be viewed here. I’ve found the comments my tutor made on the images to be thought-provoking and I’ve tried to keep them in mind when completing part four of the course. I found it helpful when he described what was wrong with the images I was less sure on and I was reassured when he picked out some of my preferred images as ones he liked too.

DSC_0309

“The use of colour is excellent, the composition really nice- you’ve boiled it down to its key elements extremely well, meaning that the image is at once subtle and eye-catching” – Tutor’s comments

My tutor commented on the composition not being as strong in some of the photographs, but pointed out that they still fit the brief and worked as part of the set. As in previous assignments, he picked out an image that I’d recognised as being a weaker photograph and explained why.

DSC_0294_4

“The colours on this one are really well spotted… but I did wonder if compositionally- and in terms of lighting- a little more could have been made of it.. Outside of the colour it seems a little unsure of itself as an image and a touch on the vague side.” – Tutor’s comments

It’s (still) difficult to get that balance between meeting the assignment requirements and something that’s also a strong image. I’m currently working on assignment four and trying to ensure that all the images are compositionally strong as well as being relevant to the brief.

My tutor said that he’d prefer to see this image in a horizontal orientation, well luckily, I took several photographs at the time and experimented with the orientation. This certainly feels less cramped, but I’m still not sure which I prefer..

DSC_0378_2

In the report, my tutor suggested a number of photographers to take a look at and I confess that I’ve so far only looked at one or two, but writing this has reminded me to take a look at the others as well. At the suggestion of a fellow course mate I’ve started watching the BBC drama, The Hour, which makes very good use of colour and in particular, has chosen a colour palette that perfectly evokes the era in which it’s set. I’ve noticed that when watching TV programmes and films, I’m now consciously noticing colour palettes and other aspects of colour, and thinking about the effects those choices have.

Conclusion

I was quite unsure about this assignment when I submitted it. It was difficult to do, especially in the middle of winter. In such a large place it’s quite tempting to try to photograph everything and to sort through it later for appropriate combinations, but I realised early on that it wouldn’t be feasible.

I deliberately went out at times of day when the conditions and light would provide good images, even when said conditions would not necessarily provide for a happy photographer (8am freezing fog in the middle of winter looks great at least). I think this really paid off and made the images much stronger. I also tried to capture different aspects of the graveyard, and not just the headstones, as I think it made for a more interesting set.

I enjoyed studying one location over the course of a few months, especially watching as the weather changed and seeing the light change at different times of day. I’ve actually not been back for a while and reflecting on the feedback I’ve been given has made me want to return and explore in the late summer sun. This may even allow me to find some replacements for a few of the weaker images.

Leave a comment